Uncategorized

Goin’ Out West

I went for my first visit to the west coast this month. While visiting Washington I visited Seattle, Tacoma, and Olympia. I’m from the other side of the country. We have mountains, beaches, ocean, and coast. I was struck by the subtle differences in the skyline- the boats, the fact that the snow-capped Ranier mountain was visible in the skyline in the middle of July, the small boats in every body of water. I was thoroughly impressed by the Chihuly glass sculptures in Tacoma and Seattle. Pottery and blown glass clearly have a big impact on the local art there. Below are a few drawings from my visit.

washington woman
Washingon Woman, prismacolor marker and sharpie on paper. 
chichuly glass
Sketch of the glass flowers at the Chihuly Glass Gardens in Seattle. 
Leave a Reply

